B side. Calligraphic skill.

13 Feb

SFC

This weekend at an antiquarian book fair, local members of the  California Society for Calligraphy were writing people’s names on slips of paper.  I prevailed on Jane Shibata to pen the society’s initials in my day book.  A good sport with an astounding sense of geometry, wrote this logo in black and blue one off on the spot.

I had to go back Sunday to ask her name.  Avoiding the entry fee was fun.  Just as we arrived on the first visit, the exhibitor from 414 offered free entry tickets to Erika and me and a couple of others waiting to pay to get in.  On our way out, I gave my ticket to someone from the Huntington Library who had loaned her ticket to someone with a task in the hall.  On Sunday, I dressed the part in a sport coat and brown shoes, hoping to talk my way in using fliers from the first day.  At the gate two attendants and a supervisor were talking to someone earnestly so I held up a semblance of the ticket, a colorfully printed slip of paper from a dealer, and walked through.

Leave a Reply

