A side. Personal WikiLeaks

7 Sep

I have deleted my post of the letter to my mother.  Its public appearance was apparently not a good idea, since it caused my sisters such distress, which was not my intention at all. In fact, I had actually hoped–WRONGLY, I find–that this letter might open some dialogue with them about our past, and act as a kind of amend for my childish behavior.  Apparently not, and I’m sorry. One of my many defects of character is a tendency to reveal everything that I write, a real problem in the age of social media. I do want to thank so many of you for your support and good comments.

I did also want to say that my growing up wasn’t THAT different from thousands of other families in the 1950s. It had moments of lots of fun and friends and pet animals and camaraderie, and there certainly was communication, not brooding silences.  My parents did the best they could. I have friends who suffered from real dysfunction, even violence, and have managed to construct good lives nonetheless. I gained some good solid values from my family despite the problems, and for that I am thankful. 

2 Responses to “A side. Personal WikiLeaks”

  1. Martha Ingalls September 9, 2013 at 6:03 am #

    Hi Erika, I guess I missed this. How are the meds working? I have the picture of us at the Stanley and will let you post it on facebook. Here is Ben’s movie of the cabin.

    Here it is: http://youtu.be/htdW6tk2nd8 Much love honey and I hope things work out with your sisters!! Marbie

    • esauboeck September 9, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

      Oh, Marbs, I’m a mess over this! Can we talk some time soon?

Leave a Reply

