Infant Joy!

21 Jan

Ibabyboeck_brandnew

Our first grandchild, Lyle Albert Boeck, was born earlier than planned (he came the day before a scheduled c-section, and in a real hurry!), on January 13, 2016.  I have been filled with the whole gamut of emotions, being so far away and only being able to see him on Skype or Google Video. But he’s beautiful! I decided we as grandparents should send out an announcement to our friends. We went to a copy shop here in LIsbon, and had these made up in no time. LOVE the new era of technological innovation that makes it possible for us to see our grandchild in real time when half a world away, and allows us to print up our own birth cards. The message on the card is one stanza of William Blake’s poem:

babyannouncement

Infant Joy
BY WILLIAM BLAKE
I have no name
I am but two days old.—
What shall I call thee?
I happy am
Joy is my name,—
Sweet joy befall thee!

Pretty joy!
Sweet joy but two days old,
Sweet joy I call thee;
Thou dost smile.
I sing the while
Sweet joy befall thee.

I think that Goethe also wrote of ”Freude” and babies.  Freude, Joy, Joi, alegria:  any way you say it, it does describe this miracle!

4 Responses to “Infant Joy!”

  1. Georgia Pope January 21, 2016 at 5:01 pm #

    Isn’t it wonderful that even if you can’t hold Lyle until return that you get to see Max, Dottie and Lyle over the internet. I so enjoy visiting Eldon and now Gemma on the computer. Congrats Erika and George! You’re going to love being Grandparents xo

    • esauboeck January 21, 2016 at 5:23 pm #

      It does make all the difference, Georgia!

  2. Raewyn January 22, 2016 at 4:21 am #

    I just can’t imagine two people more suited to be doting grandparents. How exciting for you both. Enjoy every bit of it.

    • esauboeck January 22, 2016 at 10:08 am #

      Thanks, Raewyn! We can’t wait to hold him!

Leave a Reply

